Just Coastin’…

Oregon is fantastic. Me catching some zzzzz’s at the new office:

Weed, CA is a fantastic place!! Shout out to Robert, Amy and Jenn and thanks for showing me a good time there!!

After the last post was made from the College of the Siskiyous, I went back Mt. Shasta Brewing Co with my Weed CA buds and had some more beers. We went to Robert’s. He played some Guatemalan songs, we drank some more beer and hung out. Through lengthy interdisciplinary discussion involving calculus, metaphor, anthropology, geology, neurology and beer, we had the entire world figured out. It was right about then that I drove north a couple miles and slept in a rest area.

After some zzzzz’s, I cruised up to Klamath Falls. I love that little city. They have tractors on boats that grab logs out of the river. That has to be one of the coolest jobs in the world, by far. While there, I also found a local bakery, bought two bear claws and a coffee. I love bear claws!!! I think the maple bar is the only pastry that holds a candle to the bear claw, I think the bear claw ultimately takes the cake though, so to speak. Went North.

Crater Lake –

Wizard Island zoom shot:

In the visitor center, I spoke with a lady-ranger about buying property on Wizard Island, or possibly the whole island. She said it wasn’t for sale. I tore a piece of paper from the Crater Lake National Park Map, wrote  ‘$3,500 american’ on one side and my cell number on the other side. I said to her as I passed it nonchalantly over the counter, “Maybe this will change your mind.” Rapidly, I turned and exited. I did my best.

When negotiating real estate deals, be stern, be confident, but be fair. I thought on my way out – she is lucky to receive any offer in this economy.

*Uncle Jeff – The offer for the oak-creek-house still stands – $4,500 american , as I have not received a call-back concerning Wizard Island. I would advise that you move on the offer quickly though, snow is coming to the splendid Oak Creek. Driving time to and from the brewery will increase, making your property less desirable for Bruce and I. Bruce and I will have to reconsider our offer and I warn that it will be considerably less. Move fast on our offer brother, do not miss the money train!!*

Jeff’s back porch standing in the creek:

Jeff’s share of the creek:

Back to Crater Lake –

I hiked down to the lake. The lady-ranger guarding the lake informed me that the surface temperature of the lake was 36 degrees Fahrenheit and the air temperature at that time was 40. I said that’s cold. She went on to say that a snow front was coming in about 20 minutes time. I said hold this camera.

She was right. I would guess that my in-shorts thermometer read about 36 degrees or so, I can’t say for sure – it was very hard to see. Haha.

After the swim, I managed to run up the 3/4 mile 800 vertical foot trail in about 3 minutes. Dead-sprint with a cigarette ablaze for warmth. I left the park as the snow started falling.

Oregon is very green. All sorts of green in fact:

Oregon is very green, because oregon is very wet. All sorts of wet in fact. I found a place to camp in the Umpqua River Valley, 4000ft lower in elevation and west of the park. Soon after paying for a night’s use of the campground, it started raining. It rained for about 16 solid hours. Sometimes just a tad more than a sprinkle, sometimes a downpour, but nevertheless consistently it rained for 16 hours. When the rain finally ceased, I was so excited!! I french-pressed and drank 2 pots of coffee, then danced for about 2 hours or more. I know that with the amount of practice I have been doing, I have just got to be one of the best dancers in the country. Here is a sample of what went on:

After revolutionizing the world of dance as we know it, following the Umpqua River due west, I headed for the coast.

If this embed doesn’t work, here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rowRMwupSj8

Some of the smaller towns in Oregon are a little trashy. Here is an example I found along the drive, in Roseburg:

The coast. No clouds. Sunshine. 70 degrees. Slight onshore breeze. Also called a seabreeze.

I really enjoy lighthouses. In the old days men who worked at the lighthouse had it made. They cleaned the lenses, filled the kerosene for the lamp and looked out at the ocean through a telescope all day. They occupied a share of the triplex next to the lighthouse, on the coast, with two other families. They farmed vegetables. They harvested deer, elk, crab, salmon, and clams. I would have really liked to have had that job.

Inside the lens of the lighthouse:

The Department of Homeland Security is in charge of that lighthouse now, to keep us safe. There is a whole complex of housing there to administer the lighthouse, even though it is merely tradition and decor. We have GPS. I would imagine this is all done at a greater expense, inflation adjusted, to the American people, as well. That is an entirely different writing assignment though. I don’t want that lighthouse job today, for the feds, enough said.

Camping on the coast is expensive. I managed however to find a free spot:

There seems to be an anti-Japanese sentiment here on the coast of Oregon. There are lookout towers everywhere and lighthouses were used to watch for the kamikazis. I think these corrals in my camp are not for horses, but rather for Japanese internment. I could be wrong, but it makes camping here a lot more exciting!! I have to use them for something, and I failed to bring my horse!!

I have been hanging out on the beach for the past few days waiting for inspiration. Today I read the sunday edition of The Register Guard from Eugene. Cover to cover, front to back, found no inspiration. Protests for and against muslim community center in NY during 9-11, editorials on the pro’s and con’s of Keynesian type stimulus packages, ALL NOT INSPIRING!!!

I am not ready to head back into the city yet. I think instead I will start driving North today. I want to see Astoria. When I get there, if I feel like it, I might go to Washington. WA has some pretty cool sights to see, a couple of national parks. I might spend a while there.

If for no other reason….. I want to press my luck!!

Tangent: I have heard that some of my pictures are now desktops in cubicles amongst friends and family. Awesome!!

Here are some shots along the way, that I thought would be worth sharing:

The trade calls these macros, I believe. They are fun to take. –

Dancing on Half Dome in Yosemite.

Super-Tangent: If I had the power, I would find a way to get rid of this piece of shit. Blow it up!!! That would be spectacular!!! Cheers Edward Abbey!!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Forrest
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 16:31:29

    The dance moves are looking tight. The Pied Piper of R&B would be proud.

    Reply

  2. bree
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 17:35:26

    don’t they call that dance the ‘doug-e’ ?
    miss you

    Reply

  3. Ome
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 17:49:42

    Still waiting for the dance moves, Grandpa is downloading it while I reply. Thank you for the flowers for my B-Day, they’re lovely. Wore the new running clothes from your Mom and David this A.M. and ran off the calories I got from my B-Day dinner. Now I need to use the B-Day massage present from the Rambauds. Shin splints and all. Would rather be hiking with you though not in for the swim. Might give me a heart attack.Keep the presses running,Love the Ohm.

    Reply

  4. Ome
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 18:29:12

    On our lowspeed outernet I viewed your version of RiverDance. Excellent!

    Reply

  5. Mom
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 19:18:50

    Awesome dancing! I see you have been practicing. Pictures are quite lovely. Thanks for calling me on Saturday. I enjoyed hearing about your week. As usual, I miss you the most. Love you lots and wish I was there. XOXO
    P.S….I have been practicing my dance moves as well and I am not quite as good as you!! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Uncle Jeff
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 06:11:59

    Hey Garret,

    I have considered your generous offer for the creekhouse. I have to say that I had not entertained the thought of doing an “owner carry back loan”. But your offer made me reconsider. I will accept the offer of $4,500 per month, (USD$) over a 30 year loan period. The payments will be due on the 1st day of each month, commencing November 1st, 2010, and ending November 1st, 2040. I will be forwarding the documents from my title company. Payments are to be made to Jeffery J. Norman, PE, and sent to the Beaver Street Brewery in Flagstaff Arizona. I will be establishing a PO box there in my name., and setting up my company headquarters there.

    Travel safe, and keep the blog rolling, great stuff !

    UJ

    Reply

    • Garret Joseph
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 08:21:21

      Jeff,

      I am delighted to receive your comment this morning. The situation we have found ourselves in, at the very start of this promising week, takes me back to philosophy class at The University of Arizona and the urinating liars dilemma. In this exercise we learn the first to act in any situation – be it real estate, urinating, or otherwise – finds himself in a disadvantage. The first liar never wins. Follow: on a bridge, the two men adjacent are preparing to urinate. The first man unzips, and pretends that god equipped him amply in that he is able to tell the temperature of the river from however many feet up. He says, “wowee this water is cold”. Impressed and inspired, the second guy does the same and says, “wowee you’re right, it is cold in there. But I had no idea how deep it would be as well!”

      These men were obviously phillistines, not men of privvy and class like ourselves. The exercise is taught at the U of A to this day I am sure, it is timeless. Thank you for the refresher.

      With all the above aside, the money train has left with you standing at the depot my good man. I recieved a call from the NPS late last night. They ran out of money up there at crater lake. A lady-ranger remembered my approach, and pulled my number! I have been ironing out the details all night in my office – truck in the wilderness. I am redlining what I hope will be the penultimate agreement as we speak. Bruce has been giving the green light to start the prints for construction. Your civil engineering services are not needed. We have no drives – boat or helicopter access only – and we require no underground utilities. However there is always a place for you to stay with Bruce and I up there.

      Regards,

      Garret “crater lake cowboy” Zuppiger

      Reply

  7. Ricker
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 20:02:59

    Bud! You are an absolutely amazing individual! I did get your voice mail the other day, however, I can assure you that I would not be allowed to take a week off of work to join you on your journeys, however, the thought did cross my mind to simply quit. That wouldn’t be smart of me though. Love you buddy! Keep up the fantastic writings and pictures! A pic from, I think Zion National Park is my desktop pic!

    Reply

  8. Ricker
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 21:06:44

    I have truly enjoyed all of your commentaries, and I would agree that the bear claw is a truly delicious donut. In fact, I can thing of nothing better than to wake next to Crater Lake and partake of a tasty Bear Claw with a cup of Cafe Combate! Scrumptious….

    Reply

  9. Granpa Lew and Grandma Marcie
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 21:40:18

    Once again we are dazzled with the visions and repartee.
    As for the dance, we were not merely whelmed we were under whelmed. Seriously you looked like a forest creature had infested your bee vees. Were we supposed to be laughing this hard? Maybe you should cut back on the beer.
    On the other hand when the spirit moves us who are we to argue?
    Keep up the good work, a nasty job but we know you are up to it.

    Hogs and quiches,

    L & M

    Reply

  10. Aunt Karen
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 10:59:33

    Hey G,
    Amazing and beautiful photos-you are obviously having a great time! What a trek; can’t believe all you are doing and seeing-I may be a bit envious! Why not trek on over to Neb.-the door is always open-would love to see you!!! XOXOXOOXOXOXOX Aunt Karen

    (I wrote last evening-not sure why it doesn’t show up here)

    Reply

  11. Aunt Karen
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 11:00:27

    Hey G,
    Amazing and beautiful photos-you are obviously having a great time! What a trek; can’t believe all you are doing and seeing-I may be a bit envious! Why not trek on over to Neb.-the door is always open-would love to see you!!! XOXOXOOXOXOXOX Aunt Karen

    (I wrote last evening-not sure why it didn’t show up here)

    Reply

Leave a comment